Blender Python: select the imported object and plug a texture into a Cycles node

Hello everyone!

I am quite new to scripting in Blender, and I have been searching everywhere I could for the answer to my question. Here’s the thing.

I am working on a script that imports a list of .obj and exports them into GLTF. Basically, for each imported object, I want to import the texture attached to it into the node editor, as well as some other textures that are currently not attached to the obj. Then I want to connect all these textures into the right places on the GLTF roughness/metallic node, and basically export the object in GLTF.

I am good with the importing of the objects, but now I have two problems:

• Once the object imported, I don’t know how to select it to add a material. Here’s the code for that part:
import bpy
import os
import math
import shutil
import glob

# put the location to the folder where the objs are located here in this fashion
# this line will only work on windows ie C:\objects
filepath= os.path.join('C:\\', 'Users', 'mae_l', 'Desktop', 'Conversion_Test')

filename=os.path.basename(filepath)

# get list of all files in directory
folder_list = sorted(os.listdir(filepath))

obj_list=[]
tex_list=[]

#for item in folder_list:
obj_list.extend(glob.glob('c:\\users\\mae_l\\desktop\\conversion_test\\*\\*.obj'))
obj_list.extend(glob.glob('c:\\users\\mae_l\\desktop\\conversion_test\\*\\*\\*.obj'))
obj_list.extend(glob.glob('c:\\users\\mae_l\\desktop\\conversion_test\\*\\*\\*\\*.obj'))

tex_list.extend(glob.glob('c:\\users\\mae_l\\desktop\\conversion_test\\*\\*.jpg'))
tex_list.extend(glob.glob('c:\\users\\mae_l\\desktop\\conversion_test\\*\\*.jpeg'))
tex_list.extend(glob.glob('c:\\users\\mae_l\\desktop\\conversion_test\\*\\*.png'))

tex_list.extend(glob.glob('c:\\users\\mae_l\\desktop\\conversion_test\\*\\*\\*.jpg'))
tex_list.extend(glob.glob('c:\\users\\mae_l\\desktop\\conversion_test\\*\\*\\*\\*.jpeg'))