Blender Render Engine

Apology for my ignorance but I am quite new to Blender.:eek:
I was going through cgcookie and noticed a link to mod. I did not know mod so I followed the link.

I noticed that the render engine for some reason seems better (in terms of quality) to what Blender renders.

I also noticed for some reason that even Cinema 4D rendered images looks sometimes better than what rendered in Blender.

Does anyone know about why? Is it just mainly due to textures selection or is it just that the render engine in Blender is not as good as the other engines…

Thanks

Leone

as I understand it, the blender render engine is optimized for speed not quality
it can produce some spectacular images, just look in the gallery at blender.org, but that’s not the main focus.
third party render engines are focused on quality not speed
just look at the unbiased engines like luxrender, they NEVER finish an image, they just keep making it better.
it’s a trade off
blender will show you a quick render of an image so you can see what it looks like
if you can’t get the quality you need for your final image (which often you can) you always have the option of using a stand alone render engine

Dave

Oh boy, here we go again :slight_smile:

Because I just love to make people feel happy, I’ll give each one of you reading this message an orgasm right now, by saying one word: “unbiased”.

With that out of the way, let’s get to the real deal here: other renderers produce better results (and faster, when using features like glossy surfaces, etc) because they’re not as old as Blender Internal (as they’re calling it) is. It’s in dire need of a really really heavy upgrade to get rid of the old techniques it’s using.

Unfortunately, there are no programmers left to perform such an upgrade.

Well, I’m a little bored, so why not add my $.02 :stuck_out_tongue: