Blender Slice SVG Export

I am an architecture student and I really enjoy using blender. However, there are a few features that I miss from other modeling programs. One is the ability to export section, or plan cuts in a vector format. To solve this, I am going to write a vector exporting script based on selected points, and edges.

I want to write the script to export Inkscape SVG compatible SVG files. This will give access to more options than a standard SVG file would, like layers. Because this is a learning project for my self, there will be several stages in which I would like to complete this project:

Stage 1: Complete: The script can identify the selected edges within, the selected objects and export the global coordinates of their endpoints to an SVG file. This will create a group for each object that has each line selected segment represented as a line segment in the SVG file. However the closed section are not connected and do not for shapes in the svg file.

Stage 2: Work in Progress: In this section, I would like to take a tuple built from the endpoints of the selected edges in a selected object, and match the connecting ends together. This will allow completed edge loops within an object to be exported as a closed shape with a fill in the SVG file. I have the tuple created but i am still strugling with the best way to 1) search through the tuple for each cooresponding end point, and 2) how to remove or designate that an edge has already been used.

Stage 3: This would be a combination of my export script with the Knife Slice script. The goal would be to allow you to make a slice with a plan, and export the resulting edges as an SVG file. I might even be able to allow you make multiple slices automatically based on offsetting the plane in a choosen direction, then each slice would be exported to the same file as a seperate layer.