Blender Slowing Down and Stuttering in Large Scenes. Considering Upgrading My CPU

I’m a game dev and use blender for nearly all of my 3D work. I’m currrently using Blender 2.93.

The main issue is that undo and redo gets really slow in large scenes. I’m not sure if its the obect count or the triangle count that is the problem. Adding new objects, deleting objects and duplicating objects all cause blender to pause for a couple of seconds. Its started to really break my flow.

My current scene (with everything visible) has 444 objects and about 420,000 triangles. When I’m working about half of that is probably visible at most.

I’m curious as to whether or not upgrading my pc might help speed things up. I don’t use my blender for any rendering aside from Eevee while modelling, unwrapping etc. I export to Unity after and do a lot of object placement and set decoration there. By comparison Unity runs a lot better in editor and there is a much higher object/triangle count as I’ve duplicated lots of rock and tree meshes and placed them around the scene.

My current pc (some of which is quite old at this point):
CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K CPU @ 3.50GHz
GPU: Sapphire Radeon RX 590 Nitro+ 8192MB
Ram: 16GB Hyper X Fury 1866 MHz DDR3 CL10 DIMM
Motherboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Main Drive is an SSD.

Any help or insights would be appreciated. Thanks!

Have you looked at your system RAM usage when working on such scenes? You could be potentially be running out of RAM.

I wouldn’t have thought that RAM would be the bottleneck but I’ll keep and eye on it and see if there are any obvious issues. Thanks!

I’ve been keeping an eye on my systems performance as I’ve been working and I think the RAM usage is fine. It’s pretty consistent at around 66% with both blender and Unity open at the same time and I’m still getting the pauses while working in blender. The CPU spikes whenever I do an action that causes blender to pause so I assume the CPU is the main issue.