Blender User needed for UK TV Documentary

Hi,

I’m a producer/director and I’m making a history documentary for the BBC. I’m also a Blender user and have been teaching myself to use it over the past 6 months. I’m really excited about the possibilities of using Blender for broadcast graphics and this seems like the perfect opportunity. The sort of budget we have rules out using a big CG house hence I’m thinking of doing as much as I can with Blender.

There’s going to be more graphics work than I can handle on my own, so we are looking for a reasonably experience Blender user, (UK, preferably London based), who would be interested in working on the project. It will probably be 4-6 weeks full time in Oct / Nov - rates negotiable.

The style of graphics we’re planning will involve combining elements into live action, so experience of camera tracking and compositing would be useful.

Has anyone else used blender in a factual television project? I’d be really interested in any experiences.

The documentary is being made by Ballista Media
www.ballistamedia.co.uk

Thanks,

Nathan Williams (www.nwilliams.co.uk)

Interesting project you seem to have there. Blender has very nice compositing nodes, but I think the worst bottleneck will be rotoscoping. It is possible to do roto work in Blender but the workflow is not the fastest one. Also there is no tracking system at all. But otherwise, I love the comp nodes in blender and I think it is not that crazy idea even to use Blender’s vse to edit the shots.

This is very interesting. :slight_smile: Nathan, can you give us some more information as to what would be required in the project? For instance, will you be needing CG characters (CG birds, aliens,) explosions, barrel flares, sparks, blood splatter, day-to-night conversion…?

You can do camera tracking with Voodoo. You can then export that information to Blender. Voodoo works best with simple shots (pans, static.)