Blender Video Editor And Compositor

Why?

I figure that most development should be focused on the actual 3d aspect of it… when there are so many better programs to do them in IE. Shake,Nuke,Inferno,Fusion,Avid MC, FCP

Any reason why its better to have them in blender?

What is the one major thing that makes blender different from Shake,Nuke,Inferno,Fusion,Avid MC, FCP?
Hint: I use blender but not Shake/Nuke/Inferno/Fusion/Avid etc because I can’t aford those programs :slight_smile: Make sense?

that and blender runs on all major os(windows, mac, linux and solaris) platforms, you also dont have to render everything out to go between ones 3d scene and the nodal compositor

obviously those programs are cost prohibitive. i can see doing small comps in blender but when you work with a few hundred elements in a shot that may sometimes be 2K blender just cant do that. as for the video editor i really cant say much in its favour.

yes i am a professional and i use blender for a significant percentage of my 3d work even though i have Maya and Houdini. most of the time my stuff ends up in maya for the final render because blender still needs work there but i find it much faster for modelling, scene layout and the like.

The Biggest Reason is full and utter intergration with the renderer, no dicking about with dozzens of images/ files, and in the sequencer you can use a scene strip and it will only rendeer the scene when you render the sequencer, its just saves a hell of alot of hassle and time, and with it we have Full 32bit throughout only nuke does that, shake and others convert to 8bit and back all the way through your composite.

PS, don’t think general 3d stuff is being ignored, thats far from the truth.

I don’t get why trolls start these threads. why? Why come onto a free site that supports a free software package and criticize it for not being as good as commercial packages, some of which cost thousands of dollars per seat. why?