blender vs. art of illusion (& 3d procedural grass?)

hey all - what do you know about blender vs art of illusion?

here’s a cool archi-viz rendering
http://www.friendlyskies.net/aoiforum/viewtopic.php?id=275
http://www.friendlyskies.net/aoiforum/viewtopic.php?id=258

the guy says he did the grass with…procedurals??? can we do that in blender? if so how - that would be SUCH a time saver!!! (for renderings)

(whatever the deal is they need to update their gallery in sourceforge cuz it stiiiiiiiinks)

here’s another link…

how do they do that?

http://friendlyskies.net/aoiforum/viewtopic.php?id=208

hey, if those are the best pictures that AoI has to offer (I’m talking about the ones in the Art Gallery), it ain’t got nothing on blender! If you don’t believe me, look in the Finished Projects forum.

I’ve been using blender for only a couple of months now, and I can do some amazing renders and animations that are very realistic. Blender is also very powerful. Scripting, plug-ins, game engine, animations, compositing, and probably some other things I don’t know about! It’s amazing, really.

Blender grows faster than the documentation can keep up with, which is the only problem I’ve found with Blender.

lol. nice ‘crit’ — so does anyone know how we can do the procedural 3d grass thing in blender?

If you want to do it with procedural textures, it can be done with a noise texture as a displacement map, but you’ll need to subdivide the mesh a lot. Maybe a better method is with particles:
https://blenderartists.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=58628&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=

or with dupliverts:
https://blenderartists.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=50306&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=grass

Search the Blender General forum for ‘grass’ and you’ll find many more posts on the same subject

ohhhh, bummer, i though maybe there would be some sort of miraculous workaround involving an orchestra of procedurals and alpha values or something…too bad.