Blender vs Commercial products

I always wanted to know whay is blender free and yet so good and when maya adm 3ds max cost soo much.
As a student i get maya and 3ds max and many more for free and a 3 years licece.
what do you think about blender vs commercial products like cinema 4d

This question has been posted here so many times …
but yeah, if you want my advice, get the license, try it, work with them, and see for yourself what you like better, nothing is as personal as the artists choice of tools. Most packages have their good and bad things, you might want to mix them together to get best of all worlds.

I tried 3dsmax a long time ago, couldn’t get my head around the interface, guess I was too hard wired for blender already :stuck_out_tongue:
But since I don’t have really any comparison material I would say just try them, in the end you can only benefit from knowing more packages, and the underlying ideas don’t really change regardless of the package used.

Thread moved to ‘Off topic’. This is one of those subjects which has been covered many times so I’d suggest a forum search.

Richard

• your 3 year student licenses forbid commercial usage, blender doesn´t.

use the tools that get the job done, learn their strenghts and weaknesses and use them accordingly. If you need to get a nail into wood you´ll not use a saw unless it is the only tool you know. If you need to build a birdhouse and only know a hammer you´ll maybe somehow finish it, but the result will not be desireable and it will be a stony long road.

The reasons Maya and 3DS Max are so expensive is that the end user is paying for the man hours put into writing the program and of course, the massive profit margin that Autodesk wants.

Blender is free because the programmers and developers who work on it do the work for free – programming man hours. There is no profit margin for Blender.

Blender is comparable to any commercial product out there. It’s a matter of preference.