Blender VS Maya Which is Best

As I am new to this 3D modelling today I am searching for what software to learn and found an article about Blender VS maya and thought of learning Blender is it right to learn Blender.

Welcome to the club!

The question “which SW is better” is being asked often and the answer is: none. Or all of them. It doesn’t matter. Point is, there is no thing like “better”. Each has its own pros and cons (as the article already says, afterall) and only depens on user and perhaps on purpose to use given tool.

Blender is free, offers vast range of tools from modeling and sculpting to texturing, rendering, animation and even video editing, etc. Pretty much complete CG workflow. Not all of these are the best on the market, though and Blender is infamous for doing things its own way.
Not a problem for a begginer hobbyist, but a proffessional might want to stick to more industry sandard for example.
Both Blender and Maya are on par with the rest of big CG players, so its highly subjective.

Just follow your guts and choose whatever tool fits you “better” :slight_smile:

6 Likes

Congratulations on your objective judgment, we lacked another like you!

I like blender, but all modeling software is dependent on what you want to do, for instance if I want to create models like bench’s or play structures I prefer Animation Master, as it is a spline editor and your customization is based on your imagination. But I am not very good at creating characters so I can not comment on that.
you can do low poly and high poly meshes, honestly I use blender as an interface for converting AM models to fbx for UE4. if gaming is what your after than you might want to stick with blender as they are working closely with Blender on the compatibility with each others software. if all you want to do is create animations that I would take into consideration the learning curve for using the software and the support given to it by the creator of the software.