Blender vs. Maya for artists

Hi there!

So I’m just starting out with 3D animation. Before I get too comfortable with one specific bundle of software though, I’m hoping to learn more about the different options available. The purpose is for non-commercial stereoscopic 4K animations. (Yes, I know, I should just get a supercomputer XD). So far I’ve investigated mainly Maya and Blender. I’m hoping to use it along with ToonBoom Harmony, which supports 3D/2D mixed animations although it is mainly 2D software. However, all the comparisons I’ve seen between Blender and Maya have been using old versions of Blender which I hear had a far worse user interface. So, does anyone have any good links to a recent, fair comparison between Maya and Blender?
Maya has support for the 3Delight plugin (http://www.3delight.com/en/index.php?page=3DFM_overview) which has built-in stereoscopic support, as well as a Toonboom Harmony plugin, so that’s definitely a plus, but I don’t want to have to shell out 5k unless there are significant advantages to using Maya.

Also, this may be a little off-topic for a software comparison thread, but would a maxed-out iMac (3.9GHz i7, 32GB RAM, 4GB GT 780m) be able to handle this kind of work? I’m guessing the graphics card might be under-powered, but since thunderbolt I/O is PCIe-based, I’m hoping to add a second graphics card over that for additional rendering support as needed. Hopefully stereoscopic 4k rendering won’t actually be the same as “8k” rendering.

Thank you very much! I realize these are kind of newbie questions, but we all have to start somewhere, right?

Moved from “General Forums > Blender and CG Discussions” to “Support > Other Software”