blender vs the real players

hey guys.

i like to use blender for as much as i can, however i have just (by just i mean all year) hit the wall which we all will hit some time. and that is “blender Vs the industry standard”

for me it is in “cad applications” since i am an industrial designer, i need to create dimensioned drawings of things regularly and need to use a program that will do it accuratly.

blender doesn’t offer any cad functions.

here is my comparison between an artistic Blender model. with the later accuratly made CAD model.

the blender model is highly inaccurate due to it being sub surfed, but is good enough for visualisations, the other model is highly accurate, and can be dimensioned off.

the blender model was done with mesh editing techniques, while the other was done using solid modelling techniques.

the blender model took a considerable amount of time to texture and get the lighting set up (although none of that is evident in this image sorry, it is in the link below it)

the other was a Click “chrome” thing LOL.

here they are for comparison.

BLENDER
http://doug.mudpuddle.co.nz/albums/upload/render2.jpg
http://doug.mudpuddle.co.nz/albums/upload/renderedGA.jpg <-----(better lighting in the correct setting for my assignment

Ashlar vellum COBALT
http://doug.mudpuddle.co.nz/albums/upload/render1.jpg

one reason why i really would love to see blender get solid modeling, is because the Cobalt made item took about 1 hour to make. the blender made item of simialr quality would take an entire day.

this is the only reason i may need to drop blender as my main 3d ap in the future.

Alltaken

Me too.

I just wish there were more freeware CAD apps out there.

Size can be approximated using number inputs when you size things, but it’s useless unless you can go in and show dimensions later.

You seem to be laboring under the delusion that Blender is a CAD program. It isn’t.

If you need CAD features, a CAD package will better suit your needs.