Blender??, worth it?

I was just wondering weather blender has the powerfull game engine im looking for.

After a long while of searching for python game engines and reccurently coming across “blender” a “open source” game engine i was forced into submission and clicked on the link.

Why would i want to download a free open source game engine when i have autodesk 3ds 2009? After a while of using autodesk, then blender and comparing the two i have to admit blender is much easier to learn.

But does it have a powerfull and highly editable game engine?

For arguments sake lets use the following example: Runescape >.<

The example could have been WoW, but the very name has put many a poster off. My questions is, is blender powerfull enough to create a fully interactive, unique game such as Runescape or Wow. Is it comparable to heavy brand names such as Unreal Engine ect?

Although i am a newbie at python and 3d image making i have already shown determination by spending a good wad of cash on autodesk…

Hello and welcome
sorry if I will look a bit rude, but is your post a joke…or are you just confused?!
Anyway I’ll try to answer:
first, here, you can watch (and play) what a “pro team” could do with the Blender GE in about 6 months:?!
http://www.yofrankie.org/
Second, I was ignoring that 3DS have a game engine “inside”?!
Third, it’s better to “forget” commercial games while working with BGE, I guess?!
Fourth, if you’re new to 3D it’s better to start with some cubes, probably?!
Bye

Yeah lol, you can make games like runescape. You can make anything really, your enemy is the fps (frames per second). If you are planning to make a game similiar to Assasins creed and other nice looking games your fps will be around 5-10. That is 6 times slower than a second I think…

But if you want to make games with PS/PS2 graphics the fps will be much higher. Games like Dark Cloud and every PS1 game will work without lag. And maybe even games like Final Fantasy X…but I doubt that.