Blender x Houdini x Octane Render pipeline / workflow?

Hi I’m new to blender and 3d animation & I am currently using the Octane for Blender plugin. I just found out all of the amazing volumetric effects that you can achieve using Houdini

So my question is…say I have a 20 second animated scene in Blender and I want to add in a Houdini effect where the character shoots an energy blast out of his hands.
What would be the proper workflow to send an animation from octane blender, to Houdini for vfx and then back into the octane blender plugin for animations ?

Do the fx from Houdini get attached to the mesh or is it just an overlay in a specific x,y,z axis ? Do I need to parent the Houdini effect to a mesh in my animation ?

I know the creators of spider verse animated in Maya and did vfx in Houdini and I think they imported it back into Maya after but im not certain.
I would like to achieve this same workflow but with Octane Blender + Houdini and im really confused on how to execute this properly.
Any advice on a proper pipeline would help alot I cant find any good explanations of this

My solution was to export the animation from blender as a fbx. Import in houdini do the effects and now export it i guess as a volume? Blender can now import these…

Now when you import the volume to your final animation it should line up and everything is ready to render. (The volume needs a material first)

The important thing is that you only export the final animation since you can easily edit the houdini effect to line up when you change the animation.

Okay copy! Thank u this was super clear & fast. Better then anything I found on google

One last thing I’m confused about with this pipeline is … if I import an animation into Houdini, would I be able to manipulate a mesh from that animation inside of Houdini ?