blendercam .... maybe not that GE related, but quite interesting

Hi there,
I am back with a new project!!!

Well first of all:
This Thread is not that GE related! So if anybody knows where to move it, just doit!!!
I don`t know where to post (An electronic forum would be nice) :smiley:

Just a while ago, i saw a short doku about pixars “cloudy with a chance of meatballs” (i think that it was this film).

They used a device to simulate a real camera in the 3d space. So the filmmakers can akutally “film” a 3d scene with a kind of virtual camera. The “camera” is a device, which delivers it`s position and rotation to the 3d scene to the 3d programm (i think they use 3d studio or somthing else). On the device is a display mounted, which shows the actual camera image to give the cameraman feedback.

In fact I am a quite interested in electronics [since I am graduating now in a HTL (Higher Technical College , I think )] and I have some experience in Microcontrollers and stuff.

The position and rotation will be deliverd by a 3d acceleration sensor (through integration) and a 3d compass (either a 3d gyroscope or a 3d Hal Sensor).
An ARM controler (ARM Processors are found in the Ipod for example) gets the data and sends it over Ethernet to the PC. After that blender (should) generate a cameraimage, which is sent back to the ARM processor to show either on for example a handydisplay. Over an I2C (A sensor interface) more of such “position sensors” could be pluged in to do for example motion capturing.

The main problem will be the Ethernet communication, because a wired connection would be quite unhandy ( I am thinking of an Embedded Linux solution)

So enough technical brabbling

The project will start after my graduation (21. 6.2010) and I have already some technical support :).

To show the potential of this project, a short feature list (what could be possible).

#Better Camera Tracking ( Image based tracking systems are baaad, when it comes to fast camera moves)