Blender's Limits?

I’ve done some looking around at tutorials and around here and haven’t found an answer to my questin. What is the limits on what you can and can’t do with only Blender. I know that for some of the potorealistic renders that you need to have HDR images. So want to know how far can you go without those and only blender. As you can probably tell I’m new to blender so I’m sorry if this is a dumb question.

The limits are your imagination.

Limits? We have no stinking limits! What limits? Your mind + your ability = your limits.

Blender does not understand limits…or boundaries.

I have tried and used nearly all of the major 3d packages, and I for one will stick with blender.

for the serious answer:
there’s memory limits & “productivity” level interface speed limits. IE slower, lower end equipment = sooner before things bog down to uselessness.

That’s all determined by what you plan on doing. But remember, the CGI movies done ~10 years ago were done on computers with less resources as what you can buy now for $1000, so there’s ways to do what you want.

Ok, thanks; I guess I’ve misunderstood somethings then.

The thing to remember about a lot of CG and graphics stuff, is that since its only a visualization or art (lets ignore different interpretations of what art is here), it doesn’t actually have to be right (physically accurate). All it has to do is look right. Often these tools are created such that what is right, looks right, but if doing it the right way is too much work, in terms of computer time or human time, then you should consider a work-around.

Ok, so what do these other programs that I keep hearing about do then? Like yafaray, gimp, Luxrender; what do these do?

yafaray only renders a pre-made scene, as do Luxrender.
Gimp is an image manipulation program, like photoshop (2D!!).
Blender is a feature-rich 3d creation software, with an internal renderer.

So what’s the point in using them?

to make stuff.