Bluescreen shadow on object

I have a scene shot with a bluescreen. I want to place the clip, with the blue removed, in front of a wall created in Blender, so the clip will cast an appropriate shadow on the wall.

At the moment I have the movie clip on a flat plane in front of the camera, with the wall a short distance behind it (the wall was just a plane with a texture). The plane and wall are on separate render layers. In the compositor I added a channel key to the plane render layer and successfully removed all the blue, then I used AlphaOver to combine both render layers. However when rendering, the wall behind the clip does not show at all - the background is completely black (ie it shows the clip the same as with the bluescreen, except it’s a ‘blackscreen’

I’m pretty new to Blender, so don’t really have much of an idea what else I needed to do. I tried things like turning off sky and setting the wall shadow to receive transparent but they didn’t work.

Any ideas on what I’m doing wrong? (using Blender 2.56)

Maybe you could add a screenshot of the clip and your node setup to your post. Its really hard to figure out what you want to do from the description alone.

I’ve attached an image that shows my setup in the compositor. It shows what I’m currently getting when I render:

In Gimp I did a quick mockup of what I’d like to get:

Any help much appreciated.

The wall texture only shows as black in blender, but it’s the same as in the mockup.

the node is not finding the render layer. do you have the correct layer selected ? maybe you gotta render that layer / select it and f12 then it will show in the node. Here is a old 2.49 screen shot. It looks a little different .