Bones controlled by sliders

Hello,

I am a newbie and I am looking for a way to control a mesh shape and texture with sliders.
I tried with Shapes keys, but it doesn’t work for rotations. My sliders should allow to scale and rotate the bones (and as well later control colours and texture transparency).

Which way would you suggest ? Are there tutorials that I would have overlooked ?

Thanks in advance,
Rimpotche

Well I guess it really depends on exactly you are trying to do but your best bet would probably be a combination of shapekeys, the action constraint, and driving the IPO material.

Animate the bones to create the main motion for your mesh which you can use with the action constraint, which I’ve explained here. You can create any type of bone motion you need on the bones directly and ‘drive’ it with another (slider) bone. (You can directly drive a bone with another bone if they are in separate armatures, but driving quaternion rotations is a recipe for hairloss so I recommend you don’t ;)). You can then add any additional ‘fixes’ to your shape using shapekeys which are driven by the bones you have animated or another slider bone, whichever you prefer. Both of these techniques are actually conveniently explained in this tutorial by Paul Caggegi.

To animate the material with a bone slider (by the way, all the sliders should be bones in the same armature since that way they will be contained in the same action as the rest of the rig when animating), select the object and set the IPO window type to ‘material’. Then select the ‘alpha’ channel text and press ‘n’ to bring up the driver setup window. Setup the driver in there, you can press ‘i’ to create a default curve which you can then edit as you like. This explanation could help you set it up (it’s aimed at shapekeys, but setting up a material driver is identical).

Hope that answers your question :slight_smile: