Boolean modifier doesn't cut the mesh

Hello guys,
I’m new to blender and try to get into it since some weeks now. I thought I understood the boolean modifier but obviously I don’t. As you can see in the attached pic I tried to cut the marked “cube” out of the “circle”. I add the modifier to the circle and tell the modifier to cut out (difference) the cube. When I grab the cube and pull it up it is dublicated and one stays in the circle. Same if I add two new cubes to the same session and try to cut one from another. If I open a new session boolean modifier works on the cubes. Has anybody a tip for me which settings I messed up?

Thanks in advance
Best regards
Matthias

Hi, can you post a screenshot of your modifier settings, please?

Hey, thanks for your help in advance.
Herr the screenshot of the settings

After applying this is what I get:

Can you try applying the scale of your objects? That sometimes messes up the algorithm precision.

Here is some small tip that I like to do when I am doing a boolean: Sometimes I will hide the object that is cutting another object to see if the cut was made correctly

Kind of like this:

Make sure the object you want the hole in has the modifier
And after hiding the object like this:

you can see if the cut was made. After it is the way you like it, then you can apply it.

Edit:
Use H and alt-h to hide and un-hide objects

Hey guys, thanks for your tips. Unfortunately I won’t be able to check it today. So do you think the size could be the reason? After having problems with proportional editing (not knowing that you can use the middle mouse wheel to choose the size of the effect (object hat just 5mm radius) I made it real big. I will try tomorrow to shrink everything and will report how it worked.

Have a nice evening.

Best
Matthias

you can also adjust the proportional size afterwards for fine tuning: