box selection / nearest vertex selection from python?

Hi all,
is there any way to use selection tools from the python interface? I am working on a mesh creation script and I need a way to access the nearest vertex relative to a certain point.
This functionality is obviously present in Blender - how else is vertex selection or box selection possible in the GUI? But I can’t find any way to use it from Python!

What I really need is something like this (sorry for the pseudo code, I’m a total python noob):

VertexList GetNearestVertices(Object obj, Vec3D position, Int count)
or
VertexList GetVerticesInBox(Object obj, Vec3D point1, Vec3D point2)

Could you help me here? If this functionality is not present I would have to implement my own kd tree or octree, which seems pretty unnecessary to me.

Thanks in advance!

Here’s a quick version of get_nearest_vertices:

from math import hypot
from operator import itemgetter

from Blender import Object, Window

def distance(a, b):
    def distance_recursion(a, b, dist, step):
        if step < len(a) - 1 and step < len(b) - 1:
            dist += hypot(dist, a[step] - b[step])
            return distance_recursion(a, b, dist, step + 1)

return dist
    return distance_recursion(a, b, hypot(a[0] - b[0], a[1] - b[1]), 2)

def get_nearest_vertices(ob, loc, amount):
    me = ob.getData()
    distances = {}

for v in me.verts:
        distances[v] = distance(v.co, loc)

sorted_distances = sorted(distances.items(), key=itemgetter(1))

return map(itemgetter(0), sorted_distances[:amount])

# exit edit mode to operate on correct data
is_editmode = Window.EditMode()  
if is_editmode: Window.EditMode(0) 

# quick test of the func
ob = Object.GetSelected()[0]  

loc = (10.0, 0.0, 0.0)
verts = get_nearest_vertices(ob, loc, 5)

print verts

# restore edit mode status
if is_editmode: Window.EditMode(1)