bpy.ops.mesh.extrude_faces_move

using Blender 2.5x 29431
i’m pretty new to python but have coded in C, C++, JAVA and maxScript in the past…
now it’s time I do some procedural modelling, it’s summer and I have time to kill (and art to make! )

from : http://www.blender.org/documentation/250PythonDoc/bpy.ops.mesh.html

bpy.ops.mesh.extrude_faces_move(MESH_OT_extrude=None, TRANSFORM_OT_shrink_fatten=None)
Undocumented (contribute)
Parameters:	
MESH_OT_extrude (MESH_OT_extrude, (optional)) – Extrude, Extrude selected vertices, edges or faces
TRANSFORM_OT_shrink_fatten (TRANSFORM_OT_shrink_fatten, (optional)) – Shrink/Fatten, Shrink/fatten selected vertices along normals

To get me started :
What i would like to do is extrude a face 0.1 blender unit along the face normal, from the console. The report function of the console says

bpy.ops.mesh.extrude_region_move(MESH_OT_extrude='<POINTER>', TRANSFORM_OT_translate='<POINTER>')

If i paste that into the python console and run the line, it produces several lines of error-code.

I’ll appreciate any directions/help ( i have looked at the existing 2.5 repo for python mesh scripts…but was not able to find anything related to extruding )

OK so …

bpy.ops.mesh.extrude()
bpy.ops.transform.translate(value=(0, 0, 0.724422), constraint_axis=(False, False, True), constraint_orientation=‘GLOBAL’, mirror=False, proportional=‘DISABLED’, proportional_editing_falloff=‘SHARP’, proportional_size=0.683013, snap=False, snap_target=‘CLOSEST’, snap_point=(0, 0, 0), snap_align=False, snap_normal=(0, 0, 0), release_confirm=False)

extrudes and moves in the z direction by the specified amount…OK i’ll figure it out from here :slight_smile: so i need to understand how to query or make a variable/data structure like ‘<POINTER>’ that contains a bunch of information like the line above here…and start implementing a script…