Brand: Indie game made with Blender

Hello Blender Community,

My name is Etienne Vanier and I’m an artist in a new Canadian indie studio, Nine Dots. For the past 8 months, the five of us have worked full time with no salary to create our first game, Brand. It’s a 2D hack and slash with 3D graphics, with lots of weapon customization. Think Megaman in large Castlevania-like maps. We’ll release it to Xbox Live Indie soon and we’re working on a PC release as well.

All the 3D models were created and animated in Blender. Even our trailer was assembled with the Blender video editor! This software’s availability has been crucial for us as we had almost no money to start this project. In fact, I was referred to Nine Dots’ CEO specifically because I learned Blender on my own in high school (I spent two years with Softimage and one on Max in college. Ha! What software’s useful now, Autodesk!).

I have seen the generosity of open-source users with the Indie Humble Bundles, with Linux users making 25% of the purchases. The Extra Credits fundraisers have also been highly successful as it seems gamers are ready to back up good causes, with actual actions. Our team has good relations with the Extra Credits crew, I’ve been the guest artist for this week’s episode.

We’ve set up a Rockethub page to gather funds that will allow us to purchase equipment and software so we can start another project and really launch our company. If you’re unfamiliar with crowdsourcing (Rockethub being one example), in exchange for an amount of money donated to the cause, we give you perks related to the game. Many of you could be interested in tutorials detailing how to make a game in 3D (with Blender) and how to make a game design document.