Brig - Project

After few hours of modeling the hull, test render of material came. I was not satisfied with the look, so I went to unwrap it on my own. Terrible work. I hope it is correct, or I will just… I dont know. :smiley: I just realised that I will need colors to identify which part is which. So, this is the progress so far.
ps.: I am also a plastic modeler and few minutes ago I asked one guy, how big is the UV texture he used. I was not kidding. I realised it just few minutes ago. This disorientation must be called somehow :eek:
Bad texturing:

Test of uv map:

Test UV map - so I wont get crazy, which part is which

Nice start - You may need to increase the poly count to get a better shape. Have you used a Sub-Division Surface Modifier? You might like to look at that, also bear in mind that when you position the UV map on the texture image that you can move, scale and rotate the various pieces in relation to the image to get different effects.

Keep up the good work, Clock.

PS when is your 17th Birthday? - you may need to update your signature by now… :slight_smile:

Hi!

If you let me give you some tip: at this stage try to concentrate on the smoothnes of hull. Forget the textures. As an example I show you the hull of dutch smack:

http://s26.postimg.org/597o8kgl1/smack_bow.jpg

Just after I had finished modeling I started covering the body with the textures. Planking was horrible so much, that finally I decided to cover entire hull with plain colours. I really admire that you decided to build a sailing vessel. Believe me it is much, much more difficult to achieve good results like with power driven vessels :slight_smile: Anyway - keep working. I am going to follow your thread with attention.

Let me show you few examples o my work:
http://s26.postimg.org/q6z2ta1rp/smack_final_entire.jpghttp://s26.postimg.org/j5crm1r3p/Le_Coureur_final.jpg http://s26.postimg.org/rec8t9jlh/tartana.jpg

Believe me, I also started from the beginning… So, good luck!