Bringing blender tutorials to rights

Hi

this subject might already have been discussed to death here or elsewhere. I might also be blissfully unaware of sites that supply the product discussed in this thread. However I’m going to say what I have to say… and please correct me if I’m wrong.

First off, I’m a noob in Blender… and I can feel it. Blender is for me a work of wonder… simply because it shows that open source / free software can work and could work throughout the world. I’m not a wishy washy tree hugging dope smoking idealist (although
I firmly believe all heads of state should be - sit back and watch the world get better) I understand money speaks, but software like Blender is a breath of fresh air in this overly corporate world.

Okay, so now I come to the “bad” part of this thread. (Once again this is only my limited opinion - if you know better, please correct me.)

It seems that there is a definite lack of production oriented tutorials for noobs. I understand the need to learn the basic shortcuts, but if other people are like me, they
would like to see why you would for instance use a cube instead of a sphere, or why you would loop-cut instead of multi-cut. Yes there are tutes that show you blender doing such things, but not the why of them… at least not clearly enough.

Maybe someone else feels the same way, maybe not. I’ve browsed some of the art on this site and undoubtedly there are some exquisite minds at work on blender around the world. What I would like to suggest is, instead of each one working on tutes as per request or as they feel… maybe we can form a “standards” organisation looking specifically at creating and managing tutorials. Such a panel would ideally constitute top artists and mid level blenderado’s (did i just coin a term there?) with great deal of input from newbies. (If such a panel exists, sorry. I will now model a gun (very simple model) and shoot myself digitally.)