Budget 2019 computer for 3D

Hello everyone,

I’ve been doing some research on a computer build to work with 3D complex scenes renders and animation which is my 2019 project. (I mention this so to establish that I have no experience and therefore my decision making is getting difficult).

I think I could invest €1500 tops for a complete system, I know some builds are up to €2800 (or more) but this is my reality and I just wanted to know from your experience if it will be actually possible to work with a €1500 computer. What to sacrifice with minimum impact on the possible workflow? … AMD_vs_Intel? more GPU power or CPU power?

I know this seems I just want a recipe, but I have been doing research on this and since I can’t afford to buy something it won’t be useful, I need to ask this from scratch.

Thanks in advance!

Hi :slight_smile:
Welcome on BA !

Some ideas :

• I would recommend to make sure that you get a good CPU, and confortable RAM amount (like 16 GB but 32 GB would be better) It means that you will be able to manipulate big scenes, regardless of your rendering power. Because when you come to render a big animation, usely, using an external renderfarm on the net is the simplest.
  • Nevertheless, even if you come to use a renderfarm, you need to have a GPU good enouth to set and fix your shaders, do some renders, render tiny animations, etc.

So to sum it up, I think that, for a 1500€ budget, you could have something like :

• Last Gen Intel i7 CPU @ at least 3.6 GHz
  • 16 to 32 GB RAM
  • GTX 1080 Ti (11 GB video RAM, enougth CUDA cores to be confortable with Cycles Renderer)

See you ++
Tricotou

1 Like

@Alina_Mocanca Some basic things you should make clear.
Do you need a monitor and peripherals too, or just the tower?
What are you using for rendering? Cycles gpu or cpu, or both with hybrid?
How heavy are your scenes in general? What’s the RAM usage you usually see?

1 Like