Budget Breakdown by artist/department for 3D Short

Hello,

I am an independent film producer, planning to start my first 5 min short in Blender. I was wondering if anyone has a budget breakdown by artist or by department. I understand it really varies on artists, skillset/quality and complexity of animation. But I am looking for a good starting point to understand the typical breakdown that I can customize based on my needs. Any pointers will be really appreciated.

-Rat

I’ll bump this by saying that it would be interesting to see. Not just the figures, but for me, the amount of people that have gone to that length in their effort to put something like this together. It sounds to me like you may have something pretty ambitious on the table? Just curious… what’s your best guess?

You may want to have a look at Karen Raugust’s book, The Animation Business Handbook. The book’s a bit old (2004), but the budgeting side of the business doesn’t change all that much. I’ve got a copy of it and it’s got a few references in there… as well as a breakdown, IIRC. Of course, animation houses tend to be pretty closed-mouth about the specifics of their budgets, so this kind of information isn’t something that can easily be found with a rudimentary web search.

Maybe Ton could share his budget structure, since it’s open movies he’s making sharing also the production process would be great… i’ll tweet him!

It varies wildly, even given the runtime (5 minutes) I could easily see a couple of orders magnitude change depending. A lot based on the amount of work, but also quality, seniority of the artists, etc. One way to intuit this is to look at movies: Compare e.g. Avatar to Blair Witch Project. The difference in running time doesn’t reflect the difference in budget. Even in animation, there are big differences in budget.
Day rates for artists vary a lot, I’ve seen anything from 200 to 700, but you might go lower (or higher) based on your circumstances.