Burning Fuse?????

can anyone Tell me how to make a realistic burning fuse?

particles. try searching.

and I wouldn’t recommend that as a first project.

Try something like this:
http://www.vrotvrot.com/xoom/tutorials/Welder/Welder.html

You will be animating it it sort of a reverse direction since the fuse is going away instead of a line appearing.

Why would you think this is my first project?? :slight_smile:

I tried searching for fuses and came up blank and searching under particles is too general.

I did something like that for the first animation I did on my own (i.e. without tutorials). I think it’s similar to what you want. It’s the lamp movie at http://www.geocities.com/ajr650 under animations. You have to play it for about 20-30 seconds or so. The flex of the lamp acts like a fuse.

Basically how I did it was to extrude a circle profile along a curve. In Maya I was able to keyframe the extent of the extrusion so that the effect like a burning fuse was acheived. I don’t know if you can keyframe properties like how much a curve is extruded in Blender but I would hope so. You probably just link an IPO curve to it somehow.

As for the spark at the end, I attached a point light to the path curve used in the extrusion. You have to make sure that the IPO for the path animation of the light is exactly the same as the IPO for the extrusion otherwise the light gets away from the end of the fuse.

As for the glowing effect, I actually had something called a light fog that I placed around the point light. Again, I don’t know if you can do that in Blender. You might have to make a semi-transparent geometric sphere with some fog texture or something.

I didn’t bother emitting particles. I tried but it was difficult getting the right type of particles, direction, colour, emission rate, and lifetime. It might be easier to do particles in Blender but you should leave it til last. Just make sure you get the light sticking to the end of the fuse.