BVH Rest Position Error

Hi All,

I am working with a BVH client file. This BVH file was exported from Endorphin.

I used the BVH importer to bring the animation into Blender and it plays back fine. However, whenever I put the Armature into Rest Position, it craps out and does not look right. See attached file to see what I mean. Open the Blend and put the Armature into Rest Position. I have also included the BVH file in a text window for a reference.

Can anyone help with this? I can’t skin my character without Rest Position, right?

PS: I also loaded the same BVH file into BVHacker and it displays the Rest Position (T-Pose) the same way Blender does. So I m fairly certain that there is some error in the BVH, but I am not experienced enough with this data type to detect it.

Attachments

ras_bvh_rest_pos_error.blend (200 KB)

I have studied your bvh file, It has only structure and no animation.
Your BVH file has only structure of the Bones and does not contain animation.
My bvh

Actually it does, only one frame. This is a stripped down version for posting.

Here is a 10 frame example. It’s rest position distorts in a different way.

Thanks for taking a look at the file.:smiley:

Attachments

fall_back.blend (256 KB)

Download the the file. In this armature is in rest pos.

Attachments

fall_back2.blend (234 KB)

I’m not sure what you did, but nothing seems changed?

The rest position should have the armature in a T-Pose. What I see is in the picture.

It’s like the rest pose is messed up from the waist up.:spin:

Attachments

I have officially posted a bug report.
https://projects.blender.org/tracker/index.php?func=detail&aid=18490

Let’s hope this gets fixed!

The root problem is that the armature was created during the importation with the collar bones already missaligned.

This is fixable. (see attached blend) though not without doing some work.