CAD format compatability

Does anyone know if a good way of easily importing CAD data into blender using either the IGS or STP formats?

This is part of a larger idea I’m exploring. I’m an industrial designer (product designer) and I think that with a bit of work, Blender could be a useful addition to the ID toolset. Don’t get me wrong, it’s nowhere near it yet, but I think that Blender could really push some boundaries with the right focused improvements.

Making Blender into a decent modeler for industrial design would be a gigantic, fundamental shift (and probably for the worse, based on your userbase). But purely as a rendering studio, it could be brilliant if the right interface is developed for it. I’d save out IGS or STP files, and render them in Blender. Anybody have any ideas?

As I know, Blender does not import IGES nor STEPs models as these are more volumetric descriptions and uses complexe Brep and Surfaces definitions.
At the moment, I use to export my CAD models into blender using vrml or stl.
( 3DXML would by a dream ).

I don’t know if Blender is made to produce high precise CAD models. I think that his strength is more to get quikly an idea of the product, so that you can sell it. And then use heavy tools to bring your idea to the industry.

Yes exactly, I don’t want to do any modelling in Blender for design–even for concept models it’s just not an efficient way of working. But it would be very nice to be able to import my CAD data just for rendering. I could use STL, that’s fine.

:smiley: … such comments could result in some flame-tinted responses 'round here… my $0.02: don’t give up on blender’s interface and workflow just yet. Give 'em half a chance and you may see their potential! There’s lots that can be done with subsurfed polys - yeah, not for production, but for viz they have power.