Cambridge Market Square environment

Hi all, this is my first post at Blender Artists.
Im a pretty noob blenderist but have been learning through Blenderguru’s stuff and after a while the brain cells usually start clicking.
So for my Final Major Project at Cambridge Regional College this year I decided to model the Cambridge Market Square in 3D.
Now every time I walk through the market square it feels really weird!

This animation was for the exhibition of my Final Major project just this last week.
enjoy
-Mantock

Hi there Peter! a fellow Cambridge student I see! I go to Hills Road Sixth Form College and live near Cambridge so hopefully I can give some constructive critiques.
I had no idea that CRC did anything to do with 3D animation that may have made CRC higher on my choice of college.

When I watched the video I knew in an instant where the camera view was positioned! like you say it’s surreal seeing a place in CG that you know personally!

I think the most obvious thing that sticks out is the materials and rendering, even a simple primitive shape can look good well lit and rendered. Presentation is key.there is a couple of things I would adjust. material wise and and about the backdrop that would make it excellent

to light the scene you could use a generic HDRI map. it’s what many arch-viz renders use, and it will give nice reflections, and realistic lighting and some interest to the background, even if it does not fit into the skyline of Cambridge
http://blendernerd.com/hdr-lighting-tutorial/

the second fix is also pretty easy! the materials of the objects good, but just need the slightest tweak. with the glass lower the gloss samples very slightly to .9 or so in the materials tab and add a very slight bump map to make the glass have a slight ripple. because NOTHING is perfectly reflective or flat.

alternatively you could set up your scene to render in blender cycles. provides very nice results and fast if you use your GPU.