Can blender do this?

Hello,
I am amassed how much you can do with blender, I think much credit is due to the people developing this software.
For couple of years I thought it would be a good idea to visualise my ideas with an animation or an image. Now (finally!!) I am actually getting around trying something. The thing I’m working with is in the smallest of scales, namely surface roughness. The machines that measure roughness are going from a sensitivity in the nanometer range to the petameter range (…that’s right, measurements in atomic scale).
Ok, so I am new to this game. I am going through the video tutorials at the moment. What I has is a matrix of surface roughness values (can be a square or non-square matrix, can be a vector, I am free to measure in any way). I would like to add the roughness matrix to a surface as a first step…Is this possible in blender? The matrix can have x,y,z - coord if that’s preferable (I normally use a matrix of 1000 ’ 1000 z-values and have the point density for for x any y in a header or another file).
Second question; Do you recommend anything special (tutorial, part of the manual) to start learning to do the roughness visualisation? Is there anything in blender I should pay special attention to?
Here’s a nice picture of measured roughness
http://www.comp.leeds.ac.uk/ceg/RealRough/Splot1.jpg

Thanks in advance
/ pusj

Here is some suggestions.

You will, at some point, have to scale your numbers into Blender units.

What I am seeing in the picture is simply a height field or displacement map.

If you can map your numbers into a greyscale image, then apply that to a dense mesh plane, you might get an approximate visualization. If you data changes over time consider mapping it to a greyscale video or a sequence of greyscale images.

Manual:
http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Manual/Displacement_Maps

Visual:

Atom, you are my hero…really appreciate the help.
You are right; it is simply a height field.