Can someone fill me in on this game engine?

Hi. I just started learning Blender yesterday, and I’m doing pretty well so far. 3D modeling is one of the only things I’ve never been able to grasp on computers in the many years I’ve used them… until I found blender of course.

Anyway, I’ve been seeing a lot about the built in game engine… but I can’t seem to find exactly what it IS… Is it just a test console for testing your models in a game, or is it actually a full blown game development resource?

For example, could Blender’s game engine actually create a standalone game with all the bells and whistles you’d see in retail stores? Including things like multiplayer/LAN support, music, sound, file manipulation, etc.

There’s a reason I’m asking this… I found out about blender by researching Blitz3D… a 3D game programming engine built around the Basic language. That engine is $100, and doesn’t come with much community support… in fact, just to use the forums you have to buy the software first.

So, can someone please just let me know what Blender’s game engine actually is? I can’t believe I haven’t been able to find any solid information on it…

Thanks!
Adam