Can UPBGE show stuff pulled off a server?

I posted this question elsewhere - Can it show stuff pulled off of a server? Suppose I have a cube, and when it’s clicked, I want some text to be displayed, which will be pulled off a server - eg. onclick, run www.site.com/gettext.cgi , if that script returns “HELLO”, then display “HELLO” in 3D text (or maybe 2D, ie. with zero extrusion or something, as a texture map). Is this possible? How do I do this?

Thanks for all your help.

you need configParser for it, you can post and get stuff from a webpage.
i got a pinball machine in my resources, you can open that file and look how i have done it there.

1 Like

Ah OK, I’m new to UPBGE, I have no idea what “configParser” is, but I’ll check it out. Thanks! :slight_smile: (where can I get documentation on it??)

Thats easy to do. Python 3 comes with the requests library which can be used to GET, POST, etc other functions for website stuff. If you write a php script that you put onto your server, you can call that script and code it to output a certain response to you.

2 Likes

Oops sorry i was wrong with my answer, configParser is very usefull to read/write data to/from .ini files

@Nicholas_A is right

import requests

is the module you need, if you download my files then you find it near the bottom of pinball.py

def send_data_to_website(cont): #send
def monitor(cont): #read
1 Like

Be aware that tcp has significant latency. I believe there is a tutorial regarding asyncio on the official UpBge wiki. I would also like to mention that LibLoad can take binary data instead of a path. I haven’t actually tried this, but it should be possible to download a .blend file over the Internet and directly LibLoad it.

No, it really doesn’t.

Seconded; his solution sounds ideal for the OP’s situation.

@TheDave

Not all of us have good internet connections you know . . . :wink: