Can you keyframe Python scripts? Not create keyframes, but keyframe scripts.

I am just beginning to program python for Blender and before I start coding I want to know more about what I can do with keyframes. I know the standard list of things you can do when you insert a keyframe. I know that you can keyframe properties.

What I am trying to figure out is if it is possible to keyframe the creation of mesh or other objects. Or is it possible to keyframe the initiation of a python scripts. It seems like one would imply the other.

In more detail, I am wondering if it is possible to create an object in the course of a running animation, so that at the beginning of the animation, the object does not exist and at some frame of the animation, the object is created directly or as the consequence of a triggered script.

I have some experience with Flash, and of course there that’s pretty routine.

import bpy

def MyCreationFunction():
#this function is called per frame
#you can give it inputs like frame number from the my_handler function so that it triggers parts of this function depends on frame number

def my_handler(scene):
…MyCreationFunction()

bpy.app.handlers.frame_change_pre.append(my_handler)

well something like this:

import bpy

def frame_change_callback(scene):
    if bpy.context.screen.is_animation_playing:
        if scene.frame_current < 40:
            for ob in scene.objects:
                try:
                    if ob['remove_me'] == 1337:
                        scene.objects.unlink(ob)
                        bpy.data.objects.remove(ob)
                    break
                except KeyError:
                    continue
        elif scene.frame_current == 40:
            bpy.ops.mesh.primitive_monkey_add() # could create custom mesh here
            bpy.context.object['remove_me'] = 1337

bpy.app.handlers.frame_change_pre.append(frame_change_callback)

But it doesn’t really make sense, you could just keyframe the hide / hide_render properties