Cannot solve modeling problem

G`day to everyone! I have been modeling a plane and i cannot understand how to make a soft indent on a surface of the plane. I am quite new to the modeling and this is my first works done without tutorial, so i am sure that i am missing something or doing it wrong.
As you can see in a render below, without soft indents plane model looks rough and unrealistic. I tried to bevel edges, but that resulted in glitches of the model and looked gibberish. Maybe there is an addon to solve this? Or i am missing a functionality of Blender itself?

1 Like

https://docs.blender.org/manual/en/latest/scene_layout/object/editing/shading.html

https://docs.blender.org/manual/en/latest/modeling/modifiers/generate/subdivision_surface.html

Yeah, well. Subdiv makes model looking great, but results in circular type of cut outs on the body frame instead of just smoothig the indent itself.
And smooth shading already is applied.

Which is why you use support loops to tell the modifier which edges need to be round and which ones need to be sharp.

Hey, you can do alot of that with normal/bump(16 bit) maps on your shaders.

Did you turn Auto-smooth on? Try to adjust the angle.

Which results in enormous amout of lags if I add more than 3 loops cuts. Which is very strange, since my PC handles havier loads without problems, while this model is pretty light on the vertices.

Oh, I will try that this method as soon as I am near my PC. Thank you very much!

Yeah, already had been turned on at the moment of talking a screenshot that you can see right now.

Thank you very much for your time!

Could you take screenshot without the textures and background?

Yes, of course, in a few days a will send it in this topic. Sorry for the delay in advance!

Hi! And sorry for the delay again! Here is a screenshot as you asked:

Can you include the wireframe?

Doesn’t look like everything has the same geometry density.

Yes, of course!