Can't access asset browser right-click menu (solved)

I’m trying to learn the new asset browser in 3.x, and following along with tutorials. But when I’m told to right-click on an asset in the browser window, nothing happens, so I can’t access the features in the context menu.

I realize “nothing happens” is often unhelpful, but that is exactly what it happening: I right click on an asset, and literally nothing happens.

I can right-click on anything else in the UI and I get the expected context menu where appropriate. It is only an issue with assets in the asset browser.

I’m using a custom keymap, but I can’t imagine that broke anything. There isn’t any section in the keybindings panel for asset-manager specific bindings.

I’ve tried this in 3.0 and 3.1, and it is the same.

I feel dumb about having this simple problem, since I’ve been using blender for over 5 years, but here we are. This silly little issue makes the asset browser literally unusable to me.

Can someone help? What could be going on here?

1st thing i do when something didn’t works is trying to reset the blender preferences to see if the right-click works as intended (just remember to uncheck the auto-save preferences first so that your “temporary” default preferences didn’t overwrite your “custom” preferences, or back-up your user preferences first just to be safe).

If everything is fine in the default state, then maybe your custom keymap does break something (I’m using a custom keymap myself, with a tweaked right mouse button and yes it broke something at first).

For asset-manager specific bindings, it’s under the file browser category (and some of the keymap is shared between them, but not the right-click menu).

Hope that helps.

Thanks for the reply!