Can't install Blender on Ubuntu. Please help! [SOLVED]

Hi All,
I’ve been using Blender on Windows for 5 years and yesterday decided to try my hand at Linux which I have never touched before in my life. Needless to say installing Ubuntu was quite a culture shock! But after 9 hours I finally did it.
Now to get Blender!

I download the 64-Bit version from the Blender Downloads page and unpack it in my home directory (see attachment to see folder layout).

I go to the Blender folder, double click the Blender icon… nothing! It doesn’t load anything!
Hmmmm I think. "I’ve heard people have had to ‘compile’ programs to get them to work in linux’. So I open the terminal and type:

[email protected]:~$ cd blender
[email protected]:~/blender$ blender
The program ‘blender’ is currently not installed. You can install it by typing:
sudo apt-get install blender

bash: blender: command not found

But if I type sudo apt-get install blender as it suggests, I think it connects to Synaptic and downloads it from there? Because, whilst blender does load it’s only version 2.45 :o

I’ve searched the forums and people have recommended getting it from getdeb. But not only is that version 3 mbs smaller than the official version (what did they remove?) but according the comments it doesn’t even work properly.

So I would prefer to use the Official Blender release if possible.

Can someone please help me?
I would be very greatful.

Thanks in advance! :stuck_out_tongue:

Attachments

Hello and welcome to the wonderful world of Linux
9 hours to install?? You get a “world record” here, I guess?! :slight_smile:
If you use “Apt-get” ( maybe “hard” for beginers, use Synaptic instead?), you connect to your distribution repositories ( by default, you can add others), that are “out of date” a little.
But you can use the downloaded version, of course…your problem is:
you must type the complete path like for example:
/~/blender-2.46XXXXX/blender -W
or use the command cd /pathtotheblenderfolderhere