Car game creation - workflow process? (Blender + Godot Engine)

Hi,

I’m trying to create a racegame to take my first steps into game creation. I’ve tried in the past with a fighting game, but noticed that although modeling was going fairly well, it would be too much challenge to create on my own in a steady pace, with all the animation and game-mechanics behind such games.

So I think a racegame might be more manageable. Starting off with one car and one track. It’s important for me to do many things myself (so no buying models or scripts and such), so I can learn from it and also can say that I made it. Graphics is 100% me, programming maybe 50 to 70%. I’m not good with audio and music, so at some point I might need help with that.
I’ve already got the beginnings of my car-model, but at the moment I’m getting stuck on the details. So I want to start importing it in this state in the game engine, to atleast get the car to drive around. But there are things I still want to know before I continue on:

1. How do I edit the model further in Blender, after I’ve already imported it in the engine (I want to use the Godot engine).

2. What is better to use? Materials or textures for a car? I’ve read that textures ask less processing power. But I also want to be able to change the car color in-game at some point. Seeing how a car has different materials, is it possible to get that difference when the mesh is on a single texture? Or are there additional maps (like normal maps) that can be used with it to manage the speculars/gloss/transparancy/…

3. I currently have a mirror modifier and subdivision modifier on the model. Do I need to apply them before importing them into the game engine, or can I leave the modifiers as they are (so I can still edit them more easily afterwards).