Carbon Fibre Road Bicycle tube junctions... ?

Hi there

I am in the process of modelling a bicycle, and am having a lot of trouble getting started on the headtube / toptube / downtube junctions.

I want to model something where each tube flows into the next, in super smooth style like the attached picture…

Everything I try just ends up a mess of edges, and far from smooth. Is there a tried and tested way to get smooth results like this with tubes? Also, the tubes would need to change shape subtley and in symettry along the length of each tube, like a real carbon bike frame…

But, what would be the best procedure? Should I model it in 3 parts, or do it all from a single piece?

Any advice, examples, etc, would be greatly appreciated. I am new to all this, as I am sure you worked out!

Thanks

more then one way but
i would try to get each parts with proper cross section
then use boolean to merge the different parts!

hope it helps

happy blendering

If you want it smooth it needs to be modeled. I’d have look at http://samoloty.wjaworski.pl/scripts-253_e.xml

Hi guys.

Thanks so much for reply to me.

RickyBlender; What do you mean, ‘proper cross section’ (and how can I achieve this?) I will study ‘Boolean’ in Blender to learn about that. Cheers!

eppo; Well, that certainly looks like something useful! I will install it and give it a go! Thanks!

each part dont ahve the same cross sections some are round other more like an ellipse

so each part must ahve it’s own cross section

salutations

I am sorry RickyBlender, but I don’t understand what you are saying. I understand what you are saying about each part having a different cross sections (I think!), but the bit about each part having to have it’s own cross section? What do you mean? Each part DOES have it’s own cross section, by nature of being 3D, right?