Carpet creation process + .blend

With new particle system coming, this will not be relevant for long.

I’m an amateur and in no position to write tutorials, but I was asked how the carpet in my interior render was done a few times and decided to describe the whole process.
If you see that I’m doing something wrong/inefficient, please let me know.

Don’t want to read? Here’s blend file :wink:

Add a plane. In Edit Mode scale it to desired dimensions. Optionally, add Subdivision and Displace modifiers to make it look less flat (this will be almost unnoticeable in the final result).

Tip: After Displace modifier carpet appears floating above the floor. To fix this, make the vertex group for the carpet’s border, assign 0,5-1 value to its weight. In Displace modifier set this vertex group inverted.

Add particle system. Tweak settings to your liking.

The carpet’s already looking good. Let’s do some grooming to make fur appear even more random.
Warning! After this step you won’t be able to change particles Emission and Velocity settings.

Go to Particle Edit, set desired Path Steps. Go to Orthographic view. Disable Displace modifier.
Select random hair, hide it (H), comb a bit, unhide (Alt+H), rotate in Ortographic (4/6 + 5 on Numpad). Repeat - select random (change percent and seed, if you want), hide, comb, unhide, rotate… Until you get satisfied with the result :slight_smile:
Tip: Add Select random to Quick Favorites (by right clicking on menu, then you can access this command with Q).

If hair looks stiff at roots - uncheck Deflect Emitter or lower Distance value.

It’s time to add material to carpet.
I’m pretty bad in creating materials - combing shaders and changing properties, until it looks good… This is definitely not how it should be done.

Tip: If you have a part of carpet under the furniture, you’ll save in memory by hiding unseen particles. Add a Vertex group for that part, add Mask modifier, place it above the Particles, reduce particles children amount.