Cast image from spotlight via a mirror object

Hello

As a total blender beginner I gave it a go as I want to showcase a device which casts an image via a mirror onto a half transparent glass which shows a simple user interface.

I created a spot light with a bitmap image which is thrown nicely onto an object…

Now I placed an object in the light path with reflectivity set to 1…but the image isn’t visible.

Is there a special trick in material settings or rendering settings to be able to cast images via mirrors?

thanks in advance
rick

It’s impossible with Cycles.

But you can use

• FOSS: LuxCore (bidir), appleseed, Yafaray, POV-ray, Mitsuba…
  • Commercial: Indigo, Maxwell, Arion, VRay, RedShift, Renderman VCM/UPBP, Corona (SPPM or v3)*, Thea, Octane…
*experimental

==============================================================

i.e. Render made with LuxCore Render 2 (bidirectional engine)

Wow…many thanks for the great pointers :slight_smile:

So far I only looked at complete 3D packages but not for render only software…

The last time I used render software only was the great BMRT package for SunOS 4.1.3, and that was some time ago :wink:

Do those renderer support a simple scene description like BMRT did in the past?

I liked the fact that the PRman like scene description was similar like PostScript…but as I want to learn anyway Blender as a side kick for Davinci Fusion …no worries (o;

I am more the textual than GUI guy…that’s shy I also prefer OpenScad for CSG :wink:

Oh…almost totally forgot…

Do any of thoser render software scale the casted image proportional to distance? This is where blender render also fails…

Best of all would be if it could also render a lense for simulating ultra short throw beamers…

do you need an optical simulation, or are you just looking to visualize a concept?

If you need an optical simulator, I’d recommend mitsuba. It’s not the most optimized, but it is a very powerful research engine.