CC-BY-SA licensed 3d models - What is allowed?

Hello dear Blender friends!

I hope this is the correct section to talk about this matter, if not please feel free to move it. Thanks!

So as many of you know many works made with Blender are often distributed under a CC license. At the moment I am desperately looking for a nice modern tank to be used for a commercial music video. Unfortunately for many people starting off in my line of work as a VFX Artist my budget is limited and the really nice ones on Turbosquid and the likes start at a price way over my budget:no:. Now I found a tank which has a CC-BY-SA License.

Link to license: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/

The SA (Sharealike) part of the license says that if i remix, transform, or build upon the material, I must distribute my contributions under the same license as the original. So I think as long as I dont change the model itself (retexturing, adding additional meshes on top of it) and republish the single model or so then I just have to give the author credit but dont have to share it under the sa license, right? Because the artist of that music video cant do that. What happens if I would like to animate it? would this fall under SA rule:confused:? Thank you!

Any derivative works, wich also includes the unmodified model in a video, is covered by the license. So yes if you use the model in the clip you have to license the whole video under this cc license.
What you can do though, is ask the original creator to relicense his model for your purpose. This is a very common practise.

The music video is not an adaptation of the model, and thus does not constitute a derivative work. Provided that proper credit is given, and any alterations made to the model itself are licensed CC-BY-SA, the music video can be whatever license the creator wants. This goes out the window if the song is “Ode to this tank model I got off Turbosquid” or something.