Certification?

Does anyone know if blender has an official certification program for adding to my business profile?

Nope. Never was one, sorry.

VFX or animation studios doesn’t consider any kind of software certification for business, only school programs and related college degrees. Yet you can hook up a job as self taught with a lot of effort and some exceptional skills. In general, industry consider good abilities over formation.

Check those self taught artists profiles:

Clement Arlotti: https://www.therookies.co/u/ClementArlotti
Jules Peron: https://www.therookies.co/u/jules
Narcis Calin: https://www.therookies.co/u/NarcisCalin

List of schools: https://discover.therookies.co/schools/top-50-creative-media-entertainment-schools-and-colleges-in-the-world/

Those schools are normally very expensive, but there are some ‘cheaper’ online courses that are very well accepted, like Rebelway.

Must say, by experience, that all production studios, film, animation or advertising, are very skeptical about Blender as main content creation software. A lot. But I’ve been seen some concept artists, matte painters and art directors, using in their workflow.

1 Like

I beg to differ, for many cfo and ceos that i know and speak with told me they dont look at the degrees as much anymore. Its proving they are saturated and not a valid trustworthy source anymore.

You’re not interested in degrees but you are interested in certifications? A certification is just a degree that’s worth less, man :wink:

1 Like

My engineering degree can only go so far.

A good portfolio says more than a 1000 certificates.

1 Like

100%. If you want to work in the 3D industry, it’s all about the portfolio