Cgi Api?

Does anyone know if there’s a free graphics API?

~Thanks

You bet, man. OpenGL Is the best and used widly, even in commercial software, like Unreal and Maya(I think). But, it’s harder than DirectX, but that isn’t free, so nevermind. Oh, wait, DirectX is free, actually, you just can’t use it outside of Windows, and you can’t use the newer versions of DirectX with older versions of Windows.

OpenGL is actually much easier to deal with than DirectX AFAIK (I assume you are talking about comparing OGL 2.0 to DX9).

In my experience DirectX get’s very messy, very fast.

I reccomend OpenGL.

OGL is much easier than DX imho.

Yeah, I was reading “Beginning Programming for Dummies with Java” and it had an AWESOME explanation of an API.

So I’m not a coder yet, but for future reference.

So THAT’S what OpenGL/DirectX are :smiley:

Does it have stuff for menus and such?

I’m not sure, but I think OpenGL is just for hardcore graphics stuff. However I’m certain that there are many “GUI toolkits” (usually the things you need for basic menus buttons etc) that are OpenGL based, or which call to it in one way or another.

I know there is one for python at least.

I guess my question was this:

In the explanation that book gave me, basically it said an API was a collection of sub-programs/code.

It gave the analogy that the authors friend who worked for a software firm would constantly have to rewrite a search-and-replace program for updated versions of their wordprocessor.

When APIs were introduced, however, they contained little sub programs like a program that found words and a program that replaced words and such.

So my question is;

Looking at the Blender and K-3D source folders and all the files, is that what OpenGL/DirectX are; do they have smaller little programs/files[booleans, NURBS, modifiers, etc…] and the program you write calls on them?

OH, and can someone give me a laymen’s explanation of the GTK; which I think is the “Gimp toolkit”? Is that a GUI tool?