CGtalk lighting challenge #18 - Sci-Fi

Hey guys, just thought i’d post this image that i textured, lit and rendered in blender 2.48a

I made heavy use of the node system and the render layering, which i have never used before so the node window is just a big mess :stuck_out_tongue:

Modeling of scene made by Juan Carlos Silva

Scene setup, materials, lighting, rendering and compositing by me

It’s finnished, but i really woud like to hear your opinions/ thoughts on the image, espeically the lighting.

Thank you.

http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/7136/finalxx4.th.png
Note: it’s a PNG image!

awesome …but which renderer ?

Thank you GE-FORCE :slight_smile:

I used the blender internal renderer.

If anyone wants a shot of the light setup + nodes just let me know, although the nodes dont make much sense…

Very nice, love the lighting but I think there might be a little to much blur especially at the robots wheels.

The lighting is pretty good. I gave you 4 stars. It’s good but not excellent.
There are a few spots need some attention.
The like right side of the bots head, have some sort of shadow with jagged edges.
and the left side is really highlighted.

Have you thought about using Indigo?

Thanks for all the feedback guys, i do see the problems with the lighting/ rendering.

Seanser: i agree, way to much depth blurring, however i couldnt adjust the dof node anymore, if i lessened the effect everything became sharp and look ugly, since i couldnt use the FSAA on this image. I could have edited it in photoshop, but i didnt want to touch the image, except adding the text etc.

JDA: thank you :slight_smile: i really appriecate it. I see what you mean, i hadnt actaully noticed that, i think that is the relfection… of something, i dont know what exactly… but that is one of the problems i had when rendering, i had to render this with 320 DOF samples just to get half decent looking depth of field. Maybe it was just my set up though.