Challenge #892 "Astronomy" (24/07/20) Entries CLOSED

Theme #892 for Friday 24th of July 2020 is:

Astronomy

Entry closes on Monday, 22:30 GMT (Mon, Jul 27, 2020 10:30 PM)

How do I post my entry? Here is an Example: (click to open)

Title: Galaxy of the Apes

pure

Please remember to state if your entry is pure, open or non-competing.

“There are two main goals for these contests: Fun and Glory.
Fun: You get only 4 days to create a cool image, based on the theme for the week.
Glory: After 2 days of voting, a winner is declared. The winner picks the theme for next week.”

For details please check out the: CHALLENGE RULES

Btw.: Comments are welcome in both threads (entries/voting). Have fun! :slight_smile:

1 Like

Suzanne Stargazing on the Porch

Pure entry, Cycles render, 32 samples & compositor denoising in 2.90.0 beta. Golden Triangles composition, 5x8 aspect ratio. Starry night backdrop is procedural. Things I did for this that I’ve never done in Blender before: rendered & composited multiple view layers (wanted the stars to have a bit of blur without blurring Suzanne and the telescope), then used the Glare Node on the stars.

SuzanneStargazing_017.blend (1.2 MB)

Edited to add: Yeah, I’ve replaced it with a newer version thrice now – tweaking things. :flushed:

5 Likes

Oh… my black hole render could have fit really well now… :sweat_smile:

1 Like

Yeah, it would – wanna do another one? :hammer_and_wrench:

1 Like

Great theme! Working on something. Not sure if it will stick.

cheers!

12 Likes

Eye to the Universe
Pure

5 Likes

Couldn’t you have used z depth for the blur?

I don’t know, use the same concept twice…

but that gives me an idea… and since i didn’t do anything yet, let’s try something :heart:

1 Like

Closest Approach - Pure: cycles, procedural textures, compositor, etc
V1.0

“After so much time, AlLo-1A, loaded with Earth’s and Humans’ items and data, finally arrives to FUR-4234, hoping to find not only life and science, but also good friends.”