Changed navigation shortcuts to MODO's and now I cannot navigate in Edit Mode

Hey everyone! :slight_smile: I’m completely new to Blender but not to CGI and VFX. I’ve been working in many packages over the years, from C4D to Maya to ZBrush to my current main and favourite package, MODO.

I’m intrigued by Blender but the fact that it ignores virtually all industry standards makes it somewhat cumbersome and frustrating to get into I’m afraid.

One example is that for over a decade now I’m used to Y being up. In every one of the aforementioned industry standard applications, the Y axis is up - yet in Blender Z is up. Is there a way to change this to Y being up?

I changed my navigation shortcuts to match those I’m used to from MODO (ALT+Left Mouse Drag for rotation, CTRL+ALT+Left Mouse Drag for dolly-in/-out, SHIFT+ALT+ Left Mouse Drag for translation).
Everything felt great for a moment, until I hit TAB to get into Edit Mode and now I cannot seem to navigate my viewport at all while in Edit Mode. Only when I TAB out into Object Mode again do my viewport navigation keys work again.

Where can I change this?

Hello Chris - I come from a similar background, having used other CG apps for about a decade and now transitioning to Blender. (on a side note, I can confirm after a few months of use that it is perfectly capable and totally replaced my previously used packages). The problem of custom navigation schemes affecting (or even breaking) other UX parts of the program is a bit tricky, as it is somehow double sided.