Character animation

Im new to blender and followed the BsoD tutorial. I finished with the bones and am about to start doing the animation part. But before i started i wanted to see what animating a character is like. I tryed to make him jump but when i pressed alt a to see the product it was very unhuman. If i were to jump in the air it would look nothing like that. It was very rigid and unsmooth. Is there away to animate smoother or is it something you develop over time?
How do you tell a character to grab another object and hold it in your hand?

there are free bvh files you can import that are rigged;they track more fluid motion sets
go here :

http://www.centralsource.com/blender/bvh/files.htm

CHEATER!!!
haha kidding

Is this what most people do?

dont think so, character animation takes a shat load of time. ide go to keith langos sight and do his tutorials, i dont no the link,

I still can’t animate a walk cycle worth a darn! It takes time. Look at videos of people doing what you want to animate.

Don’t be afraid of crude movements at first, Just add more key frames to smooth things out.

Above all, don’t get discouraged - just keep doing it and you’ll get better. That’s the way it is with everything!

k where is keith’s site?

keithlango.com?

note:havent tried it too lazy to look it up

you could askjeeves where it is

It’s developed over time. If you flesh out the primary actions first then add the secondary actions to smooth it out, like movement in the hands and head, pushing the chest out for the jump folding the shins and feet under. The refine the secondary actions again so you get movement in the fingers and the face during the jump.

Basically work out big then go smaller each time. Pro animators usually get 5 seconds of film-quality CG animation a week on average, so take your time

Wow never knew it took that long just to animate. But ya how do you tell a person to grab and object and wield in their hands?

did u try saying please?