Character Experiments

hi,

i’m working on a character (initially for this weekends challenge).
i’m still pretty new to 3d and blender and this is the first time i’m doing a WIP-thread to keep myself on track.
I would be more than glad if someone could provide some input!

First, i did a rough sketch
http://i.imgur.com/j2Szs.jpg

For the modeling i decided not to extrude the limbs from the torso, but to add circles at the joints, modify them and then connect the dots, following roghly the muscle structure (as this will still be a pretty stylized character.

this is supposed to be the upper leg:

update:
some arm and shoulder topo

anyway, to be continued
any thoughts are appreciated

this is the first time i’ve added an edge loop to an face-loop, which was going through itself.
wierd thing is depending on which face of the exact same faceloop i place the new edgeloop i get a triangulation with one end terminationg in the other…

or the desired “crossover”…

how about that?

also did some more work on the rest: hands, face etc…

Personally i’ve never modelled a human before but from what I’ve seen and read I think your topology looks quite bad in some areas. Blender cookie are currently doing a tutorial series on modelling a female body you should check it out, btw it’s NSFW [link]

Years of study and discussion have gone into human topology and the outgrowth of that is a few excellent tutorials which embody the bulk of that accumulated wisdom.

Rather than trying to reinvent the wheel from scratch, may I recommend the Joan of Arc tutorial. as a first lesson. I believe an appropriate search of Google would probably get you to that tutorial.

If you can still find it, the Torq face tutorial is (IMHO) one of the best ways to create a basic face ever written.