Characters for Short Film

Okay haven’t posted any work previously. I come from the world of filmmaking rather than 3D, but a friend of mine (no 3D knowledge whatsoever :spin: I know I know) began a project which involved the use of cg (and which I am involved in). We were quite unhappy with some of the work comming in and so I decided to try to ‘learn’ some of the basics (I like to know stuff), and one thing led to another.
Anyhow, to cut a long, boring story short I decided that it would be interesting to make a short animation to test out what I have learnt, etc. Recently, however, I have had to concentrate on completeing my thesis (written that is, I’m a postgrad student, which also means there are probably a million spelling mistakes in here), and have not really had time to work on it. So I figure that if I post stuff here I will (hopefully) be encouraging myself to complete the project, as well as be able to obtain feedback.
Basically, at this point I have four characters in various stages of completion, though the majority of screen time is really dedicated to two.
So, I begin by posting the main character, who is probably the closest to being finalised. I started with a pretty simple (and terrible sketch) which is attached and then have worked until I got to the result you see in the render. There are a list of things that are yet to be completed, including the fact that at this stage his eyes are basically two spheres with images stolen from BBB (which obviously I will be replacing).

Attachments

Wowsers dude that is simply awesome. Would love to view the short film when it’s completed!

I like the style here, has an interesting form. Any background available on the character, or is it hush hush for now?