Charging exclusivity for Freelance work

Hi,

I’ve been using Blender for about 2 years now and recently started freelancing, with my current project involving making a 3D character to be printed for a board game.

One of my old Game Theory lecturers who has experience in making/playing tabletop games, who is also project manager for my current project, has suggested that as a freelance I could add an optional charge in my quote to exclusive rights to the finished product. Meaning that if a client doesn’t pay the extra free, I could then resell the model/project.

Now from what I thought, once a client comes to me with an idea, with concept art or not, the final outcome I cannot reuse or resell on another platform or to other clients.

Does anyone have any experience with this and could give me a hand?

Thank you for your time and help :slight_smile:

in short
ideas can’t be patented/protected, same goes for food & beverage recipes
more on… https://www.legalzoom.com/articles/can-you-patent-an-idea

client must at least provide a sketch which is to be mimicked otherwise you’re the author and unless specified in contract you own the rights to do whatever with it - thus always read or have your own contract at hand

BTW
Client’s Exclusivity in my book stands for Priority & Interventions
AKA
“My time is exclusively dedicated to your task with possibility of working overtime (up to 16h) and/or as needed (available 24/7).”

& Of course it comes with extra cost.

1 Like

disclaimer: not a lawyer.